Buying car insurance in Utah can be mind-boggling because there are many facets. At BuyCarInsurance.com we have compiled this guide that lists what you need to know so that you can quickly and easily get the car insurance policy that fits your needs - at the lowest rate.
Already have all the information you need about Utah car insurance? Do you just want a quick quote? Enter your zip code above and get started
You are required to have car insurance to operate a vehicle in the state of Utah. The state minimum requirements reflect the no-fault insurance laws. In Utah, you file claims with your own car insurance company up to your policy limits. Once you reach your policy limits you can file a claim with the at-fault parties insurance. We provided a list of the minimum car insurance requirements:
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident.|
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$15,000 per accident.|
|Personal Injury Protection||$3,000 per accident.|
Do I Need More Than The Minimum Coverage?
The property damage minimum car insurance coverage is not enough to cover the damages in an accident, typically. This means you will be paying the remaining expense out-of-pocket. No one wants to pay additional out-of-pocket expenses after paying a yearly car insurance premium. Increasing the coverage limits on the minimum requirements is a good place to start and won’t break the bank.
Additional Coverages Available
There are many additional coverages you can add to your car insurance policy. These added coverages will protect you in a variety of scenarios. We provided a list here:
Collision Coverage- Collision insurance will cover repairs to your vehicle in an accident you are at fault for.
Comprehensive Coverage- Comprehensive insurance covers you for other situations than a car accident; if you hit an animal, vandalism, fire, hail, flooding, or of your car is stolen.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists- Optional coverage that protects you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to cover the accident.
Medical Coverage- Optional coverage that will pay for medical bills when health insurance exceeds coverage amounts and covers medical expenses for you and your passengers. Do you walk or bike? This policy offers additional coverage if you are struck by a car in those instances.
Gap Insurance- Optional coverage that will pay if you don’t own your car outright and have an accident. Gap insurance will pay the difference between the cash value of your car and the current balance on your loan or lease. This policy is best for newer non-owned cars.
Personal Injury Protection- Depending on your state this type of insurance can be a requirement or an add on. Regardless of fault personal injury protection will cover medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers (up to your limit). It also includes up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
Utah Teen Drivers
In Utah at the age of 15 teenagers can start learning to drive with their permit. Once you have a teen behind the wheel it is time to get them insured. Insuring a teen driver is expensive. This is because they have little to no experience and are labeled as high-risk drivers. The cheapest way to insure your teen, typically, is by adding them to your policy. If you are looking to save money insuring your teen, we encourage you to reach out to your car insurance company and ask for a list of teen driving discounts. This information will help you determine if your teen driver is eligible.
Multiple Drivers in Utah
Having multiple drivers under one roof is typical. It is important to tell your car insurance agent if you have multiple drivers. Telling your insurance company will help ensure you get the best policy to fit your needs with no surprises.
If you want to exclude any drivers from your policy you can definitely do that. Contact your car insurance agent and let them know. Once you exclude a driver do not let them use your car because they will no longer be covered. Any damages caused by an excluded driver will not be covered by your car insurance company.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
If you are going to drive in Utah you have to have car insurance. If you are caught driving without it you will face the consequences. Utah uses an Uninsured Motorist Identification Database Program, which will flag you for not having insurance. With all of the technology in place and the protection that car insurance adds it is best to comply with the laws. Here is a list of the penalties:
First Offense- You will pay a $400 fine and your drivers license will be suspended until you can provide proof of insurance. You will have to file an SR-22 certificate for three years. You will have pay a court security charge of $50, a drivers license reinstatement fee of $30, and a registration reinstatement fee of $100.
Second and Subsequent Offenses- You will pay a $1000 fine and your drivers license will be suspended until you can provide proof of insurance. You will have to file an SR-22 certificate for three years. You will have pay a court security charge of $50, a drivers license reinstatement fee of $30, and a registration reinstatement fee of $100. If you are in an accident without car insurance for a second time your driver's license will be suspended for one year and all other fines and fees apply.
Car Insurance Savings in Utah
Do you want a discount on car insurance? There are many options out there to cut costs on insurance premiums. If you want to take advantage of them contact your insurance company and ask for a full list of discounts. This will help you make an educated decision about where you can start cutting your insurance costs. Here is a short list of common discounts in Utah:
Good Driver- Maintain a good driving record free of accidents, tickets, and any moving violations.
Multiple Policy- Most insurance companies will offer a discount for having multiple policies such as car insurance, renters insurance, homeowners insurance, or motorcycle insurance.
Good Student- If you are a student enrolled in high school or college curriculum and maintaining a B average most companies offer a discount.
Get a Utah Car Insurance Quote Today
BuyCarInsurance.com will save you time and the hassle of searching and analyzing car insurance quotes. We provide free quotes from the top providers in Utah for free. We get you the best quotes the top car insurance companies have to offer. Follow the three easy steps below for a quote now.