Compare Rates for Tennessee Car Insurance
Hi there! What's your zip code?
Privacy Secured | Privacy Policy
  • Answer a few easy questions
  • Takes less than a minute
  • Find big savings instantly
Tennessee Car Insurance Guide

Get car insurance in Tennessee is overwhelming. If you aren’t sure about the types of coverage you need is here to help! We have put together this guide that lists the information you need to know so that you can quickly get the car insurance plan that fits your personal needs - at the lowest rate.

Already have all the information you need about Tennessee car insurance? Do you just want a quick quote? Enter your zip code above and get started.


Minimum Requirements

You are required to have the minimum car insurance in Tennessee to drive. If you do not have bodily injury or property coverage in the appropriate limits there are penalties in place. These coverages will protect you in the event of an accident that you caused. Here is a list of the minimum required car insurance in Tennessee:

Bodily Injury Liability Coverage $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Property Damage Liability Coverage $15,000 per accident. 


Do I Need More than the Minimum Coverage?

The minimum required coverage for car insurance is just that, the bare minimum. In Tennessee, the required $15,000 in property damage is not a lot of money in the event of an accident. This policy limit can leave you paying for costs associated with the accident out-of-pocket. We always recommend purchasing the most insurance you can afford. You can easily up your policy limits typically at a minimal cost and there are many additional coverages that can be added. 


Additional Coverages Available

Adding additional coverage to your minimum required car insurance in Tennesse is an easy way to get the exact coverage you are looking for. There are many coverages that will cover you in a variety of scenarios. We have a list of additional coverages here:

  • Collision Coverage- Collision insurance will cover repairs to your vehicle in an accident you are at fault for. 

  • Comprehensive Coverage- Comprehensive insurance covers you for other situations than a car accident; if you hit an animal, vandalism, fire, hail, flooding, or of your car is stolen. 

  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists- Optional coverage that protects you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to cover the accident. 

  • Medical Coverage- Optional coverage that will pay for medical bills when health insurance exceeds coverage amounts and covers medical expenses for you and your passengers. Do you walk or bike? This policy offers additional coverage if you are struck by a car in those instances. 

  • Gap Insurance- Optional coverage that will pay if you don’t own your car outright and have an accident. Gap insurance will pay the difference between the cash value of your car and the current balance on your loan or lease. This policy is best for newer non-owned cars. 

  • Personal Injury Protection- Depending on your state this type of insurance can be a requirement or an add on. Regardless of fault personal injury protection will cover medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers (up to your limit). It also includes up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.


Tennessee Teen Drivers

Tennessee employs a graduated driver license program for all drivers under 18. Once your teen is 15 they can start the program by getting their learners permit. Once your teen is on the road it is important to start shopping for car insurance, teens are held to the same standards as adults. Getting car insurance for a teen is not cheap. However, adding them to an existing policy is normally the best option to cut costs. Getting a discount for a teen driver is possible if they meet the criteria set by your insurance company. We suggest reaching out to your car insurance agent and asking what discounts are available for teen drivers. 


Multiple Drivers in Tennessee 

Do you have multiple drivers in your household? If so it is best to inform your insurance company. This can save you from unforeseen expenses in the future. Typically your insurance rates are based on the driver in the house that is the highest risk, maybe a teen driver. However, if you want to exclude a high-risk driver or any driver for that matter, you can. The insurance company will not cover the excluded drivers so you should not let them use your car. Any damages caused by an excluded driver will be your responsibility. 


Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Tennessee

If you do not have the minimum required car insurance in Tennessee you will face some serious penalties. Tennessee uses an online insurance verification system that will flag vehicles as not insured. So it is important to have car insurance so you can avoid penalties and fees. Here is a list of the penalties:

  • Failure to Provide Proof of Car Insurance- If your vehicle is flagged by the online system you will have to provide proof of car insurance:

    • If you provide proof in 15 days the charge will be dropped. 

    • If you fail to provide proof within 30 days you will have to pay a $25 failure fee and a $100 continued coverage failure fee. 

    • If you do not provide proof of coverage by 45 days your driver's license and registration will be suspended until you provide proof of insurance. 

    • You will have to pay a $65 restoration fee for your registration and driver’s license. 

    • You will have to pay a $50 fee to the safety commissioner as well. 

  • Driving without Car Insurance-. If you are caught actually driving without car insurance you will have to:

    •  pay a $300 fine. 

    • Your driver’s license and registration will be suspended until you provide proof of insurance. 

    • You will have to retake the driver's license exam. 

    • You will have to pay a $65 restoration fee for your registration and driver’s license and a $50 fee to the safety commissioner. 

    • You will also have to file an SR-22 for three years. 


Car Insurance Discounts in Tennessee

There are many car insurance discounts out there for Tennessee. The first step is knowing which discounts you qualify for. We suggest reaching out to your car insurance company and asking for a full list of discounts. Once you do this you can start cutting your car insurance rates down. Here is a short list of common car insurance discounts in the state of Tennesse:

  • Good Driver- Maintain a good driving record free of accidents, tickets, and any moving violations. 

  • Multiple Policy- Most insurance companies will offer a discount for having multiple policies such as car insurance, renters insurance, homeowners insurance, or motorcycle insurance. 

  • Good Student- If you are a student enrolled in high school or college curriculum and maintaining a B average most companies offer a discount.


Tennessee Car Insurance Quote is here to help you get car insurance coverage that meets your needs. We will provide you with an affordable quote from top car insurance companies in Tennesse. We will save you time and money and change the way you look at buying car insurance. If you just follow the three easy steps below we will get you a quote within minutes.

It's as easy as 1, 2, 3
1. Describe yourself
Answer some easy questions so we can assess your needs
2. Get best options
We find the insurance plans that best fit your profile
3. Select and save!
Choose from the top most cost effective policies