Navigating car insurance in Rhode Island can be mind-boggling, especially if you don’t know what you need. At BuyCarIsnruance.net we want to show you getting car insurance can be easy. We have compiled this guide that lists what you need to know so that you can easily get the car insurance policy that fits your personal needs - at the lowest rate.
Already have all the information you need about Rhode Island car insurance? Do you just want a quick quote? Enter your zip code above and get started.
Rhode Island has pretty standard minimum car insurance requirements in comparison to the national average. It is mandatory to meet these requirements to operate a vehicle. If you do not have bodily injury and property coverage in the event you are in an accident or pulled over, you will face penalties. Here is a list of the minimum requirements for car insurance in Rhode Island:
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.|
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$25,000 per accident.|
Do I Need More Than the Minimum Coverage?
Even though the minimum required car insurance for Rhode Island is on par with the national average, it doesn’t provide enough coverage to save you from paying out-of-pocket expenses. We suggest increasing the policy limits at least. There are so many additional coverages available to protect you in almost any scenario, we encourage you to investigate and see what coverages you could benefit from.
Additional Coverages Available in Rhode Island
We suggest looking into adding additional coverages to your minimum required car insurance to increase your level of protection. There are numerous coverage option to meet a variety of needs. Here is a list of additional coverages:
Collision Coverage- Collision insurance will cover repairs to your vehicle in an accident you are at fault for.
Comprehensive Coverage- Comprehensive insurance covers you for other situations than a car accident; if you hit an animal, vandalism, fire, hail, flooding, or of your car is stolen.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists- Optional coverage that protects you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to cover the accident.
Medical Coverage- Optional coverage that will pay for medical bills when health insurance exceeds coverage amounts and covers medical expenses for you and your passengers. Do you walk or bike? This policy offers additional coverage if you are struck by a car in those instances.
Gap Insurance- Optional coverage that will pay if you don’t own your car outright and have an accident. Gap insurance will pay the difference between the cash value of your car and the current balance on your loan or lease. This policy is best for newer non-owned cars.
Personal Injury Protection- Depending on your state this type of insurance can be a requirement or an add on. Regardless of fault personal injury protection will cover medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers (up to your limit). It also includes up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
Teen Drivers in Rhode Island
In Rhode Island, teens can begin driving with a permit at the age of 16. This means it is time to start shopping for insurance. Teens are considered high-risk drivers, so it is expensive to insure them. However, adding a teen to an existing policy is the most cost-efficient route typically. It is also important to remember teen drivers are held to the same standards as adult drivers, so having insurance is a must or they will face penalties.
Multiple Drivers in Rhode Island
If you live in a house with multiple drivers it is important to let your car insurance company know. This will ensure you are getting the policy that meets your needs and there will be no surprises.
If you want to exclude any drivers from your policy you can do so, you just have to let your car insurance company know. If you exclude anyone from your policy it is important not to let them use your vehicle. If the excluded driver causes any injuries or damages your insurance company will not cover it.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In Rhode Island, it is a state mandate to have car insurance if you are driving. If you do not have the minimum required car insurance you will face penalties. The penalties in Rhode Island can be expensive and leave you without driving privileges. Here is a list of the penalties you could face in Rhode Island:
First Offense- You will pay a $100 to $500 fine. Your driver's license, registration, and license plates will be suspended for three months. You will have to pay a $30 administrative fee, a $151.50 driver’s license reinstatement fee, and a registration reinstatement fee of $251.50. In addition to the suspensions and fees, you will have to file an SR-22 for a year.
Second Offense- You will pay a $500 fine. Your driver's license, registration, and license plates will be suspended for six months. You will have to pay a $30 administrative fee, a $151.50 driver’s license reinstatement fee, and a registration reinstatement fee of $251.50. In addition to the suspensions and fees, you will have to file an SR-22 for a year.
Third and Subsequent Offenses- You will pay a $1,000 fine. Your driver's license, registration, and license plates will be suspended for one year. You will have to pay a $30 administrative fee, a $151.50 driver’s license reinstatement fee, and a registration reinstatement fee of $251.50. In addition to the suspensions and fees, you will have to file an SR-22 for a year.
Rhode Island Car Insurance Savings
Buying car insurance for most of us is a must. Rhode Island offers a variety of ways to save on car insurance. We always recommend contacting your insurance company and ask for a full list of car insurance savings. Once you know what discounts you meet the criteria for lowering your car insurance premiums will be easy! We provided you a list of common discounts in Rhode Island:
Good Driver- Maintain a good driving record free of accidents, tickets, and any moving violations.
Multiple Policy- Most insurance companies will offer a discount for having multiple policies such as car insurance, renters insurance, homeowners insurance, or motorcycle insurance.
Good Student- If you are a student enrolled in high school or college curriculum and maintaining a B average most companies offer a discount.
Get a Car Insurance Quote for Rhode Island
Let BuyCarInsurance.com help you get a fantastic car insurance quote that meets your needs. We will provide you the best quote from top insurance companies in Rhode Island. We are making the car insurance buying process easy by freeing up your time and comparing the best rates for you. Get a quote within minutes by following the three easy steps below.