Getting car insurance in the Sooner state is stressful, especially since the rates are some of the highest in the country. We compiled this guide to help you navigate car insurance in Oklahoma. We want your car insurance buying process to fit your personal needs- at the lowest rate.
Do you already have all the information you need about Oklahoma car insurance? Do you just want a quick quote? Enter your zip code above and get started.
You are required to have bodily injury liability coverage and property damage coverage in Oklahoma. If you do not meet the minimum required car insurance there are penalties you will face. Here is a list of the coverages and the limits:
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.|
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$25,000 per accident.|
Do I Need More Than the Minimum Coverage?
We suggest purchasing more than the minimum car insurance coverage in Oklahoma. If you are in an accident and found to be at fault your bodily injuries and property damage is not covered with your minimum required car insurance policy. These would be out-of-pocket expenses for you. We recommend adding additional coverage to round out your policy for peace of mind.
Additional Coverages Available
We have provided a list for additional car insurance. This list can assist you in making an educated decision about adding additional coverages to your policy.
Collision Coverage- Collision insurance will cover repairs to your vehicle in an accident you are at fault for.
Comprehensive Coverage- Comprehensive insurance covers you for other situations than a car accident; if you hit an animal, vandalism, fire, hail, flooding, or of your car is stolen.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists- Optional coverage that protects you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to cover the accident.
Medical Coverage- Optional coverage that will pay for medical bills when health insurance exceeds coverage amounts and covers medical expenses for you and your passengers. Do you walk or bike? This policy offers additional coverage if you are struck by a car in those instances.
Gap Insurance- Optional coverage that will pay if you don’t own your car outright and have an accident. Gap insurance will pay the difference between the cash value of your car and the current balance on your loan or lease. This policy is best for newer non-owned cars.
Personal Injury Protection- Depending on your state this type of insurance can be a requirement or an add on. Regardless of fault personal injury protection will cover medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers (up to your limit). It also includes up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
Teen Drivers in Oklahoma
Oklahoma employs a graduated drives license program starting at the age of 15. Once a teen begins this journey it is time to start searching for insurance. A teen driver is a high-risk driver because of their lack of experience. Because of their high-risk driving status getting car insurance for a teen is expensive. If you add a teen to your existing policy it is a little cheaper, but still not cheap. A teen can typically get their own policy but that is a little more expensive than being added to a policy. There are a few discounts offered to teen drivers that can help cut costs. Talk with your car insurance company and see what options they have available.
Do You Have Multiple Drivers in Your Home?
Do you live in a home with multiple drivers? If so you need to let your insurance company know. This will help ensure you have the right policy to meet your needs. Finding out you are not covered for multiple drivers after an accident is not ideal.
If you want to exclude drivers in your home form your policy you can do so. Inform your insurance company of the drivers you want to exclude. Once you exclude a drive, do not let them use your car. They will not be covered and you will be responsible for any damages out-of-pocket.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
It is mandatory to have car insurance in Oklahoma. If you are caught without car insurance you will be issued penalties. These penalties are not the worst in the country, but they are costly and could even leave you sitting in jail. We put together a list of the penalties:
Driving without insurance at a checkpoint/ traffic stop- You will pay up to a $250 fine. You could be sentenced to no more than 30 days in jail. Sometimes you may pay a fine and be sentenced to jail. You driver's license will be suspended until you provide proof of insurance. You will have to pay a $275 reinstatement fee and a $125 administrative fee to legally drive again.
Driving without insurance in an accident- You will pay up to a $250 fine. You could be sentenced to no more than 30 days in jail. Sometimes you may pay a fine and be sentenced to jail. You driver's license will be suspended for one year or until you provide proof of financial security. You will have to pay a $275 reinstatement fee, a $125 administrative fee, and a $175 modified driver's license fee to be able to legally drive again.
Car Insurance Discounts in Oklahoma
Car insurance in Oklahoma is costly on average. Getting a discount can help alleviate some of the costs. Check with your insurance company for a full list of discounts. This can ensure you are getting the discounts available to you. Here is a list of common discounts in Oklahoma:
Good Driver- Maintain a good driving record free of accidents, tickets, and any moving violations.
Multiple Policy- Most insurance companies will offer a discount for having multiple policies such as car insurance, renters insurance, homeowners insurance, or motorcycle insurance.
Good Student- If you are a student enrolled in high school or college curriculum and maintaining a B average most companies offer a discount.
Get a Quote for Car Insurance in Oklahoma
Let BuyCarInsurance.com help you get car insurance coverage that meets your needs. We are here to provide affordable quotes from top insurance companies in your area. No more shopping for car insurance for hours. We save you time and money. Get a hassle-free quote within minutes by following the three easy steps below.