It is tough trying to navigate your way through the unique car insurance laws of New Hampshire. We have put together this guide that lists the information you need to know about buying car insurance inNew Hampshire so that you can easily get the plan that fits your personal needs - at the lowest rate.
Do you already have all the information you need about New Hampshire car insurance? Do you just want a quick quote? Enter your zip code above and get started.
New Hampshire is a completely peculiar state because you are not required to have car insurance. However, you do have to demonstrate the ability to pay for damages in the event of an accident.
If you decide to purchase car insurance we have listed the minimum coverages:
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.|
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$25,000 per accident.|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury||$25,000per person and $50,000 per accident.|
|Medical payments||$1,000 per accident.|
Reminder: New Hampshire does not require car insurance, but other states do. If you are driving in other states regularly it is a good idea to have car insurance.
Do I Need More than the Minimum Coverage?
In most cases yes. Even though car insurance is not required in New Hampshire it can give you peace of mind knowing you are covered. There are many additional coverages you can add to the minimum coverage to round out your policy. We always encourage you to purchase the most car insurance you can afford.
Additional Coverages Available
We put together this list of additional coverages so you can see the benefit of adding coverages:
Collision Coverage- Collision insurance will cover repairs to your vehicle in an accident you are at fault for.
Comprehensive Coverage- Comprehensive insurance covers you for other situations than a car accident; if you hit an animal, vandalism, fire, hail, flooding, or of your car is stolen.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists- Optional coverage that protects you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to cover the accident.
Medical Coverage- Optional coverage that will pay for medical bills when health insurance exceeds coverage amounts and covers medical expenses for you and your passengers. Do you walk or bike? This policy offers additional coverage if you are struck by a car in those instances.
Gap Insurance- Optional coverage that will pay if you don’t own your car outright and have an accident. Gap insurance will pay the difference between the cash value of your car and the current balance on your loan or lease. This policy is best for newer non-owned cars.
Personal Injury Protection- Depending on your state this type of insurance can be a requirement or an add on. Regardless of fault personal injury protection will cover medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers (up to your limit). It also includes up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
Teen Drivers in New Hampshire
New Hampshire allows teens to start driving with their permit at 15 ½. Drivers under 18 are required to complete a driver education program. Visit the New Hampshire Department of Safety for more requirements on teen drivers.
Though New Hampshire does not require car insurance it is a good idea to think about adding your teen to a policy or get a policy of their own. Teens are high-risk drivers and statistically the result of many accidents. Car insurance coverage could really save your pocketbook.
Multiple Drivers in New Hampshire
If you have more than one driver in your house it is important to let your car insurance agent know. This is to ensure maximum coverage and alleviate the possibility of any back premiums or loss of coverage. You have the option to exclude drivers in your household from your insurance policy. You should never let an excluded driver use your vehicle because they will not be covered. Any damages that occur will be your responsibility.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
Since New Hampshire doesn’t require car insurance there are no penalties for not having coverage. However, if you are in an accident that is your fault and cannot provide financial responsibility there are many penalties. We provided a list here:
Suspension of your driver’s license.
Must file an SR-22 for a minimum of three years.
Be required to have minimum car insurance.
Pay a reinstatement fee of $100 and a restoration fee of $25.
Car Insurance Discounts in New Hampshire
Car insurance rates in New Hampshire are some of the lowest in the country. Adding discounts on top of the low rates is even better. Ask your car insurance company for a full list of discounts available in New Hampshire, this will help you maximize your savings. We have a short list of common discounts to get you started:
Good Driver- Maintain a good driving record free of accidents, tickets, and any moving violations.
Multiple Policy- Most insurance companies will offer a discount for having multiple policies such as car insurance, renters insurance, homeowners insurance, or motorcycle insurance.
Good Student- If you are a student enrolled in high school or college curriculum and maintaining a B average most companies offer a discount.
Get a Car Insurance Quote for New Hampshire
Let BuyCarInsurance.com help you get car insurance coverage that meets your needs. We will provide competitive quotes from top insurance companies in your area. We take the headache out of car insurance. Get a fast hassle-free quote now by following the three simple steps below.