Shopping for car insurance in Nebraska can be a little confusing. We have compiled a guide that lists what you need to know so that you can easily get the car insurance policy that fits your personal needs - at the lowest rate.
Already have all the information you need about Nebraska car insurance? Do you just want a quick quote? Enter your zip code above and get started.
Nebraska requires all drivers to adhere to the state minimum required car insurance laws to operate a vehicle. Nebraska also offers financial responsibility in place of a traditional car insurance policy. Here is a list of the different way you can be in compliance with the law:
Traditional Car Insurance Coverage Options
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.|
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$25,000 per accident.|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury||$25,000per person and $50,000 per accident.|
Financial Responsibility Coverage Options
|Certificate of Deposit or Money or Securities||$75,000|
|Certificate of Self-Insurance Issued by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles||
Do I Need More Than the Minimum Coverage?
We always highly recommend adding additional coverages to the minimum car insurance requirements. We recommend this because the minimum coverages are just that, minimum coverages. If you are found at fault in an accident the minimum coverages could leave you paying out-of-pocket costs. No one wants that, so we always suggest purchasing the most insurance you can afford.
Additional Coverages Available
We put together a list of additional coverages to add to the minimum required car insurance in Nebraska:
Collision Coverage- Collision insurance will cover repairs to your vehicle in an accident you are at fault for.
Comprehensive Coverage- Comprehensive insurance covers you for other situations than a car accident; if you hit an animal, vandalism, fire, hail, flooding, or of your car is stolen.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists- Optional coverage that protects you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to cover the accident.
Medical Coverage- Optional coverage that will pay for medical bills when health insurance exceeds coverage amounts and covers medical expenses for you and your passengers. Do you walk or bike? This policy offers additional coverage if you are struck by a car in those instances.
Gap Insurance- Optional coverage that will pay if you don’t own your car outright and have an accident. Gap insurance will pay the difference between the cash value of your car and the current balance on your loan or lease. This policy is best for newer non-owned cars.
Personal Injury Protection- Depending on your state this type of insurance can be a requirement or an add on. Regardless of fault personal injury protection will cover medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers (up to your limit). It also includes up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
In Nebraska, a teen can start driving at the age of 15 with a permit. There are a few different variations to the driver's license program so for more information visit the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. During this time in your teen's life, it is time to start looking for car insurance. This could mean adding them to your existing policy, which is typically the cheapest route, or getting them their own policy. Ensuring a teen driver is not cheap. There are a few discounts available to teen drivers if they meet the criteria. This can help ease the hike in premiums.
Multiple Drivers in Nebraska
If you have multiple drivers under one roof, it is important to tell your insurance agent. This will ensure you are getting proper coverage. You don’t want to take any chances of compromising your insurance policy or even getting canceled for failing to disclose this information.
If you do not want to add certain drivers to your policy you can exclude them. Your insurance company will not cover excluded drivers. Do not let an excluded driver use your vehicle, because you will be responsible for any damages, out-of-pocket.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Nebraska
As with almost all states, you must have a current car insurance policy with the state required minimum coverages to drive legally. If you are caught driving without car insurance in Nebraska there will be penalties to face. Here is a list of the penalties:
Your driver's license and registration will be suspended until proof of insurance is provided.
You will have to file an SR-22 certificate for three years.
You will have to pay a drivers license reinstatement fee of $50.
You will have to pay a registration renewal fee of $50.
You have 10 days to show valid proof of insurance from the time of the traffic stop. If you successfully so do your citation will be dismissed and your license and registration will be reinstated at no cost.
Car Insurance Discounts in Nebraska
Getting car insurance discounts gets easier and easier. So don’t be left in the dust. Ask your car insurance company for a complete list of discounts they offer. This will help you maximize your savings. Here is a list to get you started:
Good Driver- Maintain a good driving record free of accidents, tickets, and any moving violations.
Multiple Policy- Most insurance companies will offer a discount for having multiple policies such as car insurance, renters insurance, homeowners insurance, or motorcycle insurance.
Good Student- If you are a student enrolled in high school or college curriculum and maintaining a B average most companies offer a discount.
Get a Nebraska Car Insurance Quote Today
Let BuyCarInsurance.com help you get car insurance coverage that meets your needs. We will provide top quotes from well-known insurance companies in your area. Let us put your mind at ease and do the work for you. Just follow these three easy steps to get a fast hassle-free quote now.