The old colony state is a no-fault state, which can be difficult to navigate if you do not have a good understanding of car insurance. BuyCarInsurance.com is here to help! We have compiled this guide that lists everything you need to know so that you can easily get the car insurance plan that fits your personal needs - at the lowest rate.
Already have all the information you need about Massachusetts car insurance? Do you just want a quick quote? Enter your zip code above and get started.
There are four types of insurance coverage you are required to have as a driver in Massachusetts:
|Bodily Injury Liability||$20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident|
|Property Damage Liability||$5,000 per accident|
|Uninsured Motorist||$20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident|
|Personal Injury Protection||$8,000 per person, per accident|
Driving without insurance in Massachusetts can lead to a fine of at least $500, having to pay for a year's worth of insurance at the highest premium, and possibly jail time or suspension of your license. It is in your best interest to be in compliance with the state law than to incur the penalties.
Do I Need More Than the Minimum?
Many drivers choose to purchase insurance policies with more than the minimum required limit. Think about the costs you might incur in an accident, especially the high cost of hospital stays and other medical treatment. It's definitely worth considering going beyond the minimum if it seems like you might need it. Adding policies like collision coverage and comprehensive coverage, along with higher limits on the different types of required coverage, can help you be better protected after an accident.
When you get a quote for car insurance in Massachusetts, you'll be able to see how different types of additional coverage affect your premium rate. Remember that if your insurance coverage isn't adequate and you get into a serious accident, your personal assets can be at risk to cover certain costs.
What Types of Policies Are Available?
Here is a list of other available car insurance policies and how they will protect you:
Bodily Injury to Others (Required): Although Massachusetts is a no-fault state, this coverage comes into play if you cause an accident and the injured party has reason to pursue claims against you. If the injuries caused by an accident you caused are over certain amounts or fit other criteria, the injured party can seek damages despite no-fault laws.
Personal Injury Protection (Required): Because Massachusetts is a no-fault state, this coverage is necessary to cover your own medical expenses if you're injured in an accident. Unless your injuries incur high costs or meet certain criteria, the other party's insurance company won't be required to cover your medical costs.
Bodily Injury Caused by an Uninsured Auto (Required): If you experience injuries caused by an uninsured driver, this coverage protects you. This type of coverage can also apply if the other driver's insurance company refuses a claim, cancels their policy, or goes out of business.
Damage to Someone Else's Property (Required): While you may not be liable for certain injuries you cause in an accident, you will be responsible for damage to other vehicles and property. This coverage protects you for claims on any property damaged in an accident, including government property like street lights or fire hydrants.
Comprehensive (Optional): Comprehensive coverage pays for damage to your vehicle from causes other than a collision. This might include animals, inclement weather, or theft.
Collision (Optional): Collision insurance covers damage to your own vehicle when you're at fault in an accident.
Optional Bodily Injury to Others (Optional): In addition to increasing the limit for your bodily injury to other coverages, this optional addition protects you if you cause an accident outside of Massachusetts.
Listing Other Drivers on Your Policy
In Massachusetts, you must tell your insurance company about anyone related to you in your household who drives, even if they already have their own policy. You should also list people who occasionally drive your car. You must list teen drivers if they have a license, but drivers who only have a Learners Permit do not need to be included.
Massachusetts is a "no-fault" state. What does this mean for you as a driver? Regardless of who is at fault in a car accident, your own insurance provider covers your personal injury claims. This makes the claims process more efficient, but means you are limited in what damages you can claim. This policy doesn't apply to vehicle or property damage, only to personal injuries.
The Massachusetts Auto Insurance Plan (MAIP) offers coverage to drivers who have been unable to get insurance otherwise. An insurance agent can submit an application on your behalf to the MAIP, and you will be assigned to an insurance provider.
Getting a Quote for Car Insurance in Massachusetts
Let BuyCarInsurance.com save you time and money. We provide car insurance quotes from top companies, competing for your business. We will help you find the lowest rates in the least amount of time. Just follow the three easy steps below for a quote in minutes.