In Maine, the minimum required car insurance coverage is unique and can be confusing to navigate. We compiled this guide to help you navigate car insurance in Maine. BuyCarIsnurance.com wants to provide you with the best coverage to fit your needs- at the lowest rate.
Already have all the information you need about Maine car insurance? Do you just want a quick quote? Enter your zip code above and get started.
Minimum Required Car Insurance
Minimum required car insurance is the highest, tieing with Alaska, in our country. However, the premiums are typically some of the cheapest in the country. It is important to adhere to the required car insurance minimums so you do not incur penalties. Here is a list of the coverages and the limits:
|Minimum bodily injury liability||$50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.|
|Minimum property damage liability||$25,000 per accident.|
|Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury||$50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.|
|Medical payments||$2,000 per accident.|
Do I Need More Than the Minimum Coverage?
We always suggest purchasing the most insurance you can afford. By doing this you will guarantee yourself the best coverage you can buy. There are a plethora of additional insurance coverages available to protect you in almost any situation. It is a good idea to look into them and see what your best course of action is.
Additional Coverages Available
We put together a list of additional coverages and how they can protect you further:
Collision Coverage- Collision insurance will cover repairs to your vehicle in an accident you are at fault for.
Comprehensive Coverage- Comprehensive insurance covers you for other situations than a car accident; if you hit an animal, vandalism, fire, hail, flooding, or of your car is stolen.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists- Optional coverage that protects you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to cover the accident.
Medical Coverage- Optional coverage that will pay for medical bills when health insurance exceeds coverage amounts and covers medical expenses for you and your passengers. Do you walk or bike? This policy offers additional coverage if you are struck by a car in those instances.
Gap Insurance- Optional coverage that will pay if you don’t own your car outright and have an accident. Gap insurance will pay the difference between the cash value of your car and the current balance on your loan or lease. This policy is best for newer non-owned cars.
Personal Injury Protection- Depending on your state this type of insurance can be a requirement or an add on. Regardless of fault personal injury protection will cover medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers (up to your limit). It also includes up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
Teen Drivers in Maine
In Maine, a teen can start a 3-step graduated drivers licensing system at the age of 15. This means getting car insurance at this time is imperative. Teen drivers are always held to the same standards as adult drivers. Insuring a teen is expensive, even with the available discounts. However, it has to be done. Adding the teen driver to an existing car insurance policy is typically the cheapest route. There is an option for them to get their own car insurance, but this is typically more expensive. Getting the minimum required car insurance is important no matter the cost.
Multiple Drivers in Maine
Are there multiple drivers in your home? If so this information needs to be given to your insurance company. By providing this to your insurance company you are saving yourself a potential headache and out-of-pocket costs in the future.
You can exclude any drivers in your household, you just have let your insurance company know. However, by doing this they are no longer covered on your policy. Do not let an excluded driver use your vehicle, this could be disastrous for you.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Maine
Even though Maine has some of the lowest car insurance rates in the country there are still people who do not comply. There are penalties in place if you are not in compliance with the car insurance laws in Maine. They are not the most rigorous, but they will empty your wallet pretty quick. Here is a list of the penalties:
Each Offense- You will pay no less than $100 and no more than $500 fine. Your license and registration will be Suspended until valid proof of insurance is provided. You will have to pay a $50 reinstatement fee and $20-$30 license fee. You will also have to file an SR-22 for three years.
Refusal to Surrender License and Registration- If you refuse to surrender your driver’s license and registration you will incur additional fees and even jail time.
Car Insurance Discounts in Maine
There are many options for car insurance discounts across the country. The discounts available are dependent upon your state, your car insurance company, and if you meet the criteria for the discount. We always recommend asking your car insurance company for a full list of available discounts. This will help educate you on discount options you qualify for. Here is a short list of common car insurance discounts available in Maine:
Good Driver- Maintain a good driving record free of accidents, tickets, and any moving violations.
Multiple Policy- Most insurance companies will offer a discount for having multiple policies such as car insurance, renters insurance, homeowners insurance, or motorcycle insurance.
Good Student- If you are a student enrolled in high school or college curriculum and maintaining a B average most companies offer a discount.
Get a Quote for Car Insurance in Maine
Shopping for the best car insurance rates with the specified coverages is a tedious task. BuyCarinsurance.com is here to take a load off of your shoulders. We will get you competitive quotes from top car insurance companies in minutes, no more searching and analyzing. Just follow the three easy steps and you will have a quote in minutes.