Shopping for car insurance in the Prairie state is not always cut and dry. We have compiled this guide that lists everything you need to know about buying car insurance in Illinois so you can easily get the car insurance policy that fits your personal needs - at the lowest rate.
Do you already have all the information you need about Colorado car insurance? Do you just want a quick quote? Enter your zip code above and get started.
There are specified minimum car insurance requirements and set limits to legally drive in Illinois. If you do not carry the specified requirements there are penalties in place. We have listed the specific coverages and their limits for you:
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.|
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$20,000 per accident.|
|Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.|
Do I Need More Than Minimum Coverage?
While the minimum requirements provide a decent amount of protection, it is not necessarily enough. Carrying higher liability limits is always a good idea because it will lessen the potential of out-of-pocket costs. Adding additional coverages will ensure you are covered in a variety of scenarios. We always recommend purchasing the most insurance you can afford.
Additional Coverages Available
Here is a list of additional coverages and how they can protect you in certain scenarios:
Collision Coverage- Collision insurance will cover repairs to your vehicle in an accident you are at fault for.
Comprehensive Coverage- Comprehensive insurance covers you for other situations than a car accident; if you hit an animal, vandalism, fire, hail, flooding, or of your car is stolen.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists- Optional coverage that protects you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to cover the accident.
Medical Coverage- Optional coverage that will pay for medical bills when health insurance exceeds coverage amounts and covers medical expenses for you and your passengers. Do you walk or bike? This policy offers additional coverage if you are struck by a car in those instances.
Gap Insurance- Optional coverage that will pay if you don’t own your car outright and have an accident. Gap insurance will pay the difference between the cash value of your car and the current balance on your loan or lease. This policy is best for newer non-owned cars.
Personal Injury Protection- Depending on your state this type of insurance can be a requirement or an add on. Regardless of fault personal injury protection will cover medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers (up to your limit). It also includes up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
Teen Drivers in Illinois
Illinois uses a Graduated Driver License Program like many other states. At 15, a teen can get their permit and begin their journey to independence. This means adding your teen to your car insurance policy or getting their own is necessary. Teen drivers are held to the same laws as an adult driver, not having insurance is not an option.
It is typically cheaper to add a teen driver to an existing policy. However, just because it is cheaper, doesn’t mean it is cheap. Car insurance for young drivers is expensive, that is the bottom line. The upside is there are a few discounts out there that can help cut costs. Check with your insurance agent to see what your options are.
Do You Have Multiple Drivers in Your House?
Are there multiple drivers in your house? If so it is best to tell your car insurance agent and add them to your policy. This will provide coverage if the additional drivers are in an accident in your car, and help you have peace of mind. A policy with multiple drivers typically reflects the premium of the driver posing the highest risk. It is important to know if you choose to exclude any drivers in you will be responsible for any accidents out-of-pocket. It is smart to never let an excluded driver use your vehicle.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
Driving without car insurance in Illinois is costly. You will have to pay fines, reinstatement fees, and even carry a high-risk policy. Here is a list of the penalties you will incur if you are found to be without the minimum car insurance requirements in Illinois:
First and Second Offenses- You will pay a fine between $501-$1,000 and your driver’s license and registration will be suspended for up to three months. You will pay a reinstatement fee of $100 and have to show proof of insurance to get them reinstated.
Subsequent Offenses- Your fine can increase to $1,000. Your license plates will be suspended for four-month, you will have to pay a $100 reinstatement fee. In addition, you will have to file an SR-22 for three years.
Savings on Car Insurance in Illinois
There are so many options to save on car insurance in every state and across many companies. We always recommend asking your insurance agent to provide a full list of discounts. This will help know what options you have. Here is a short list of common discounts in Illinois:
Good Driver- Maintain a good driving record free of accidents, tickets, and any moving violations.
Multiple Policy- Most insurance companies will offer a discount for having multiple policies such as car insurance, renters insurance, homeowners insurance, or motorcycle insurance.
Good Student- If you are a student enrolled in high school or college curriculum and maintaining a B average most companies offer a discount.
Get a Quote on Car Insurance Now
Shopping for the cheapest car insurance policy can be stressful. BuyCarinsurance.com is here to make buying car insurance a breeze. We provide the best quotes from top companies who are competing for your business. No more hours of researching or waiting for a quote. We provide you a quote within minutes. Just follow these three easy steps and you will have a quote in no time.