In the sunshine state, it is important to understand the car insurance laws to be protected. BuyCarInsurance.com is here to help! We have put together this guide that lists everything you need to know so that you can easily get the car insurance plan that fits your personal needs - at the lowest rate.
Already have all the information you need about Florida car insurance? Do you just want a quick quote? Enter your zip code above and get started.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Florida
Florida has unique car insurance requirements because Florida is a no-fault state. Florida does have some of the lowest minimum car insurance requirements in the country. Florida minimum car insurance requirements are:
|Personal Injury Protection Coverage||$10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident|
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$10,000 per accident.|
Personal injury protection covers injuries as a result of the accident, regardless of fault, for you, your passengers, or authorized drivers. Property damage liability will cover the damage of the opposing parties car. These minimum requirements are typically different than other states as bodily injury liability coverage is typically required.
Is The Minimum Car Insurance Enough?
Plainly put, no. Even though the state of Florida does not require you to carry bodily injury liability, most insurance companies will. Liability will cover you in the event you are found to be at fault for an accident. The limits of bodily injury liability policy will cover injuries for the opposing parties in an accident you are found to be at fault for. If you only purchase the minimum requirements you would be responsible for medical bills out-of-pocket if you are at fault. We highly recommend adding bodily injury liability to your car insurance policy.
Other Types of Car Insurance Policies Available
Here is additional information about other car insurance coverage available:
Personal Injury Protection- Depending on your state this type of insurance can be a requirement or an add on. Regardless of fault personal injury protection will cover medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers (up to your limit). It also includes up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists- Optional coverage that protects you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to cover the accident.
Collision Coverage- Collision insurance will cover repairs to your vehicle in an accident you are at fault for.
Comprehensive Coverage- Comprehensive insurance covers you for other situations than a car accident; if you hit an animal, vandalism, fire, hail, flooding, or of your car is stolen.
Medical Coverage- Optional coverage that will pay for medical bills when health insurance exceeds coverage amounts and covers medical expenses for you and your passengers. Do you walk or bike? This policy offers additional coverage if you are struck by a car in those instances.
Gap Insurance- Optional coverage that will pay if you don’t own your car outright and have an accident. Gap insurance will pay the difference between the cash value of your car and the current balance on your loan or lease. This policy is best for newer non-owned cars.
Teen Drivers in Florida
In Florida, at the age of 15, a teen can start driving with a learners license. This means at the age of 15 they will need to be added as a driver to your insurance policy. This can be a hefty expense. However, there are a few teen driving discounts offered by most insurance companies. Also how you add your teen to your policy matters; are they a primary driver? Meaning they have their own vehicle. Or do they share a vehicle with someone else on the policy? These two factors can really help cut costs for teen drivers in Florida. For more information on requirements for teen drivers visit Florida Highway Safety and Motor vehicles.
Are There Multiple Drivers In Your Household?
If you have multiple drivers in your household it is best to disclose that to your insurance company. You wouldn’t want someone to drive your vehicle and not be covered by your insurance. Typically your insurance premiums are based on the driver in the household that is the highest risk. However, if those premiums do not fit your budget you can exclude anyone in the house from your insurance. In the instance of excluding a driver, the insurance company will not cover any damages and you will be responsible for any damages out-of-pocket.
Driving Without Insurance Comes With Penalties in Florida
In Florida, there is little room for error when it comes to car insurance. Insurance companies are required to notify The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles once your insurance lapse. If you cannot provide current coverage prior to the lapse date the penalties begin.
Fine of $150-$500 depending on the number of offenses.
Driver’s license, registration, and license plate suspended for up to three years.
Pay a fee of $150 to get your driver’s license, registration, and license plate reinstated.
It really is in your best interest to be in compliance with the state law to avoid additional costs and the inconvenience of not having your own transportation.
Options for Saving on Car Insurance in Florida
There are so many car insurance discounts out there, some are 5% and some are 35%. The first step is knowing which discounts you qualify for. Here is a short list of common car insurance discounts in the state of Florida:
Multiple Policy- Most insurance companies will offer a discount for having multiple policies such as car insurance, renters insurance, homeowners insurance, or motorcycle insurance.
Good Driver- Maintain a good driving record free of moving violations and tickets.
Good Student- If you are a student enrolled in high school or college curriculum and maintaining B average most companies offer a discount.
Get a Quote for Car Insurance in Florida
BuyCarinsurance.com is here to make buying car insurance easy. We get the best quotes from top companies who are competing for your business. Shopping for the best car insurance policy can be tedious and tiring. No more hours of research or waiting for a quote. We provide you a quote from some of the best car insurance companies within minutes. Just follow these three easy steps and you will have a quote in no time.