Getting car insurance in Delaware can be hard to navigate. Delaware is not a no-fault state but the state requires similar insurance. BuyVarInsurance.com is here to help get the best insurance from the top providers. We have compiled this guide to help you understand the ins and outs of car insurance in Delaware.
Already have all the information you need about Alabama car insurance? Do you just want a quick quote? Enter your zip code above and get started.
A few years ago Delaware had some of the lowest car insurance requirements in the country. In recent years Delaware has raised their minimum required car insurance, adding personal injury protection. Delaware is referred to as an “add-on” state. This is because they are not a no-fault state but bear similar insurance requirements. Here is the list of requirements broken down:
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.|
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$25,000 per accident.|
|Personal Injury Protection||$15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.|
Do I Need More Than the Minimum Coverage?
If you meet the minimum required car insurance you are considered to be in compliance with the law. However, the minimum requirements are just that, the bare minimum. If you just carry the minimum car insurance requirements in Delaware you are protecting the other party in the instance of an accident. But who is protecting you and your property if the opposing party does not have insurance and they are at fault? If you just have the minimum car insurance requirements, no one. Adding additional coverages, like uninsured motorists, will protect you more adequately than just the minimum.
Additional Coverages Available
Here is a list of additional car insurance coverages and how the will protect you:
Collision Coverage- Collision insurance will cover repairs to your vehicle in an accident you are at fault for.
Comprehensive Coverage- Comprehensive insurance covers you for other situations than a car accident; if you hit an animal, vandalism, fire, hail, flooding, or of your car is stolen.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists- Optional coverage that protects you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to cover the accident.
Medical Coverage- Optional coverage that will pay for medical bills when health insurance exceeds coverage amounts and covers medical expenses for you and your passengers. Do you walk or bike? This policy offers additional coverage if you are struck by a car in those instances.
Gap Insurance- Optional coverage that will pay if you don’t own your car outright and have an accident. Gap insurance will pay the difference between the cash value of your car and the current balance on your loan or lease. This policy is best for newer non-owned cars.
Teen Driving in Delaware
Delaware uses a graduated drivers license program. This program starts at 16 with a learners permit and continues through the age of 18. Which means as a parent or guardian you should start looking into car insurance for your teen because they will have to have it. A teen driver is held to the same state car insurance requirements as an adult.
Adding a teen can drive your car insurance premiums up. There are ways to help keep the cost of adding your teen a little lower, but the fact is a teen is an inexperienced driver, therefore, a high-risk driver. Adding your teen to your policy is cheaper than them having there own car insurance policy.
Do You Have Multiple Drivers in Your Home?
If you have multiple drivers in your household you need to let your agent know. Adding all the drivers to your policy will ensure there aren’t issues regarding this matter in the future. When adding other drivers to your policy your premiums are typically set based on the highest risk driver, in some cases, this could be a teen driver.
If you do not want to add a driver to your policy you have the option to exclude them. However, it is important they do not drive your vehicle. Any accidents that occur will not be covered by your car insurance policy and the costs would be out-of-pocket for you.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
If you are driving without the minimum required car insurance in the state of Delaware there are hard penalties in place. We have compiled a list of penalties so you can clearly decipher the consequences:
First Offense: You will pay a minimum fine of $1,500, your driver's license will be suspended for six months.
Second and Subsequent Offenses (within 3 years): You will pay a minimum fine of $3,000 and your drivers license will be suspended for six months.
Car insurance Savings in Delaware
There are so many opportunities to get a discount on car insurance in Delaware. These opportunities are dependent upon your car insurance providers, your state, and if you meet the criteria. We always suggest asking your agent for a complete list of discounts so you can reap the most benefits. We have put together a list of a few common discounts in Delaware:
Good Driver- Maintain a good driving record free of accidents, tickets, and any moving violations.
Multiple Policy- Most insurance companies will offer a discount for having multiple policies such as car insurance, renters insurance, homeowners insurance, or motorcycle insurance.
Good Student- If you are a student enrolled in high school or college curriculum and maintaining a B average most companies offer a discount.
Get a Quote for Car Insurance in Delaware
Let BuyCarInsurance.com help you save time and get car insurance coverage that meets your needs in Delaware. We are dedicated to helping you get a great fast hassle-free quote from top car insurance providers. Just follow these three easy steps and you will have a quote in minutes.