Getting car insurance in the natural state can be a little overwhelming. We have compiled this guide that lists everything you need to know so that you can easily get the car insurance policy that fits your personal needs - at the lowest rate.
Already have all the information you need about Arkansas car insurance? Do you just want a quick quote? Enter your zip code above and get started.
Arkansas requires all drivers to have car insurance to be in compliance with the state law. Drivers need to be financially responsible for any accidents they cause. Arkansas state minimum requirements are:
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.|
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$25,000 per accident.|
Do I Need More Than the Minimum Coverage?
Since the state minimum requirements in Arkansas only cover the opposing party in the event of an at-fault accident, yes you need more than the minimum coverage to protect yourself. If you are in an accident that is not your fault and the other driver does not have insurance you will not be covered. We always suggest buying as much insurance as you can afford.
Additional Coverages Available
There are many additional car insurance coverage options to add to your policy aside from the state required minimums. It is overwhelming if you do not understand what the insurance coverage means. Here is a list of additional coverages so you can have a better understanding:
- Personal Injury Protection- Depending on your state this type of insurance can be a requirement or an add on. Regardless of fault personal injury protection will cover medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers (up to your limit). It also includes up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
Collision Coverage- Collision insurance will cover repairs to your vehicle in an accident you are at fault for.
Comprehensive Coverage- Comprehensive insurance covers you for other situations than a car accident; if you hit an animal, vandalism, fire, hail, flooding, or of your car is stolen.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists- Optional coverage that protects you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to cover the accident.
Medical Coverage- Optional coverage that will pay for medical bills when health insurance exceeds coverage amounts and covers medical expenses for you and your passengers. Do you walk or bike? This policy offers additional coverage if you are struck by a car in those instances.
Gap Insurance- Optional coverage that will pay if you don’t own your car outright and have an accident. Gap insurance will pay the difference between the cash value of your car and the current balance on your loan or lease. This policy is best for newer non-owned cars.
Teen Drivers in Arkansas
Adding a teen driver to your policy is definitely going to increase your premiums. Teen drivers, typically, are considered high-risk drivers. This is because they don’t have much experience. In Arkansas, your teen can start driving at 14 years old. This is when they need to be added to your policy. How you add your teen driver to your policy can affect your rates, for instance, if they have their own car they are considered a primary driver. This rate is more than if they are sharing a car with someone else and not the primary driver of their own car.
If you have multiple drivers in your house, you need to disclose this information to your car insurance agent. Any driver who is of legal driving age needs to be listed. This will keep you from running into any issues in the future. If you have a driver in your home you wish to exclude from your policy you can do so. But it is not smart to let them drive your vehicle because they are not covered by your insurance. Any damages would be your responsibility and result in out-of-pocket costs.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In Arkansas, if you are driving without insurance and get caught you will face penalties for not being in compliance. It is always better to have the minimum required insurance in place than to have to pay all of these fees:
First Offense: You will pay a $50-$250 fine. Your registration will be suspended until you pay a $20 reinstatement fee.
Second Offense: You will pay a $250-$500 fine. Your registration will be suspended until you pay the $20 reinstatement fee.
Third and Subsequent Offenses: You will pay a $500-$1,000 fine. Your registration will be suspended until you pay a $20 reinstatement fee.
Car Insurance Discounts in Arkansas
There are a lot of discount options for car insurance in Arkansas. It is a good idea to ask your agent for the complete list of discounts offered so you know what options you have. Here is a list of common discounts in Arkansas:
Good Driver- Maintain a good driving record free of accidents, tickets, and any moving violations.
Multiple Policy- Most insurance companies will offer a discount for having multiple policies such as car insurance, renters insurance, homeowners insurance, or motorcycle insurance.
Good Student- If you are a student enrolled in high school or college curriculum and maintaining a B average most companies offer a discount.
Get a Quote for Arkansas Car Insurance
Shopping for the best car insurance policy can be tedious and tiring. BuyCarinsurance.com is here to make buying car insurance easy. We get the best quotes from top companies who are competing for your business. No more hours of research or waiting for a quote. We provide you a quote within minutes. Just follow these three easy steps and you will have a quote in no time.